side menu icon


Doneta Schaeffer Memorial Scholarship

Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa and Western Illinois offers a memorial scholarship in honor of Doneta Schaeffer. Doneta was a Girl Scout volunteer and council staff member who believed that there was always something new to learn, different things to see and more fun to experience.

The annual Doneta Schaeffer Memorial Scholarship was established to remember and renew this legacy at least once a year. Designed to help the recipient further her education, the $1,000 scholarship is given to a Girl Scout who exemplifies the ideals that Doneta held dear.

Recipients must:


Be a registered Girl Scout in the Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa and Western Illinois council.


Have at least five years of experience in Girl Scouting, with two of those years as a Girl Scout in grades 10-12.


Have earned the Girl Scout Gold Award, the highest award for Girl Scouts.


Have demonstrated commitment to living by the Girl Scout Promise and Law.


Be a high school senior, with graduation occurring in the present school year.


Have at least a 2.5 grade point average.


Have submitted an application to a college or technical school.


Be able to document recent leadership roles, involvement in community service, and a diversity of activities in her personal life.


The postmark deadline for all paperwork is March 1. Incomplete or late applications will not be considered. Applicants will be interviewed by a committee of Girl Scout volunteers by April 30.


Applications will be mailed to all eligible Girl Scouts in January. If you have any questions or would like more information about this scholarship, please contact Korissa at or 800-798-0833.


Girls of Courage, Confidence and Character Scholarships

Girl Scouting builds girls of courage, confidence and character, who make the world a better place.

Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa and Western Illinois provides a monetary scholarship to three girls throughout the council: a Girl of Courage, a Girl of Confidence and a Girl of Character. Anyone can nominate a Girl Scout for these scholarships. There are no requirements for age or grade. If you know a Girl Scout who has gone above and beyond this past year in her role as a Girl Scout, consider nominating her for one of these scholarships.


National Young Women of Distinction

Girl Scouts who receive the this honor receive many benefits including a college scholarship, an invitation to a Girl Scout national meeting to be honored, the opportunity to join the National Girl Consultants, and the opportunity to join the National Young Women of Distinction Alumnae Association.

Click here for the application. Applications must be postmarked by March 1, 2014. Mail the application to: Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa and Western Illinois, Attn: Scholarships, 2644 Pennsylvania Avenue, Dubuque, IA, 52001.


Alcoa Chuck McLane Scholarship Award

Gold Award recipients who completed a Take Action project involving a STEM field (Science, Technically, Engineering and Math) are invited to apply for a $10,000 college scholarship. Two scholarship recipients will be selected each year through 2017.  Alcoa will also provide scholarship recipients with an Alcoa mentor for their freshman year.


  1. Completed a 2014 STEM Gold Award Project (project touches on Science, Technology, Engineering or Math)
  2. Enrolled in an accredited four year college, beginning their freshman year in the fall of 2015 and continuing studies in STEM.

The two scholarship recipients will receive the first $5,000 for freshman fall semester followed by the second $5,000 for her fall junior year if she maintains a 3.0 GPA and plans to continue her education in a STEM related field.

Click here for the application. Applications are due to by February 13, 2015.