Board of Directors

Girl Scouts is a lot of fun, but it’s also a business with a corporate structure. We have a volunteer board of directors, comprised of girls and adults. The combined expertise of these community members provides the leadership to set the direction of the council and establish the policies and bylaws (amended April 26, 2014) that guide us. The Stewardship Report shared at our 2013 Annual Meeting is available here. 

Board Responsibilities

The board of directors is responsible for the corporate business and affairs of the council and the governance issues of the council (i.e.  strategic planning, fund development, financial oversight, interaction with the community and ensuring a system for policy influencing between the membership and the board.) If you wish to contact any of our board members pertaining to these topics, please use the emails set up below. If you want to hear from a specific member, please note that in your email. Thank you. Questions and/or comments related to the board of directors can be directed to: Questions and/or comments related to the board development committee can be directed to: Questions and/or comments related to the  bylaw committee can be directed to:

Board Requirements

  1. Be a registered member of Girl Scouts of the USA
  2. Financially support Girl Scouting at the leadership level
  3. Make a concerted effort to attend five board meeting, the annual council meeting and board training
  4. Be a positive role model and advocate for Girl Scouting
  5. Be willing to be a part of at least one council committee
  6. Have a clear understanding of the council’s long-range strategic plan

Board of Directors- Officers

  • Teresa Colgan, Chair Burlington, IA 
  • Jill Dashner, First Vice-Chair Cedar Falls, IA 
  • Lee Mowers, Treasurer Silvis, IL 
  • Theresa Dunkin, Secretary North Liberty, IA

Board of Directors- Members at Large

Meet the new Board of Directors here

Andrew Abbott- Cedar Falls IA— Ann Menke- West Point, IA—Anne Ryerson- Geneseo, IL— Brenna O’Hara- Robins, IA— Carolyn Rankin- Waterloo, IA— Cheryl Foster- LeClaire, IA— Dave Emerick- Rock Island, IL— Donnelle Fuerste- Dubuque, IA— Jen Neumann- Cedar Rapids, IA— John Cummings- Cedar Rapids, IA— Kaitlin Zeiser- Lisbon, IA— Karla Steele- Moline, IL— Kasia Luebbe- Taylor Ridge, IL— Katie Wiedemenn- Dubuque, IA— Kay Sackville Breuer- Burlington, IA— Laura Hubbard- Burlington, IA— Marika Jones- Bettendorf, IA— Michel Stone- Cedar Rapids, IA— Nancy Bether- Elma, IA— Nancy Dunkel- Dyersville, IA— Peg Hudson- Dubuque, IA— Quinn Pettifer- Cedar Rapids, IA— Scott Illingsworth- Rock Island, IL— Tracy Schwind- Davenport, IA

Board Development Committee

Tracy  Schwind- Quad Cities— Mary Lagerblade- Quad Cities— Sue Evans- Iowa City, IA— Randy Mihm- Dubuque, IA— Rose Lorenz- Cedar Falls, IA— Michel Stone- Cedar Rapids, IA— Aaron Baltisberger- Burlington, IA— Mary Ann Brown- Burlington, IA— Nancy Bether- Elma, IA. 

Board Meeting Dates

We hold five board meetings a year, in addition to the annual meeting in April. Meetings are held in person or via videoconferencing from 4:30-6:30 p.m. The purpose of the meetings is to discuss and transact council business according to the Bylaws of the council.

Fiscal Year 2015

October 9, 2014 January 15, 2015 March 12, 2015 April (Annual Meeting) 2015 May 21, 2015 July 16, 2015 October 15, 2015

Fiscal Year 2016

January 21, 2016 March 10, 2016 April (Annual meeting) 2016 May 19, 2016 July 21, 2016 October 21, 2016

Board Meeting Minutes

Fiscal Year 2014-15 minutes

Bylaw Task Force Formed

A newly formed Bylaw Task Force is ready to begin reviewing the bylaws of our council.  Their task is to review the existing bylaws with an eye toward amending or revising the bylaws as needed.  The task group will discuss the proposed changes; make sure those proposed changes do not conflict with the provisions of the bylaws and policies of Girl Scouts of the USA or laws of the state of Iowa. The bylaws will then be incorporated either into the existing bylaw framework or into a generally-accepted bylaw format matching that of Girl Scouts of the USA. These bylaws are the basis for operation and governance of the organization.  Once the bylaw amendments or revisions have been finalized, the bylaw task group will present them to the membership for approval at the 2014 annual meeting. The task group has broad geographic representation and is made up of board members and volunteers.   Michel Stone (Cedar Rapids, IA) is the Task Force chair. Other members are: Andrew Abbott (Waterloo/Cedar Falls, IA), Carolyn Haupert (Dubuque, IA), Donna Logan (Burlington, IA), Mindy Stark (Muscatine, IA), Tracy Schwind (Davenport, IA), Judy Johnson (Rock Island, IL), and Theresa Dunkin (Iowa City, IA).  Board President Teresa Colgan (Burlington, IA) is an Ad Hoc member. If you have any questions, please send an email to