side menu icon

Highest Awards

Bronze. Silver. Gold. These represent the highest honors a Girl Scout can earn.

All three awards give you the chance to do big things while working on an issue you care about. Whether you want to plant a community garden at your school and inspire others to eat healthily for your Bronze, advocate for animal rights for your Silver, or build a career network that encourages girls to become scientists and engineers for your Gold, you’ll inspire others (and yourself). 

  • bronze_pin
  • silver_pin
  • gold_pin

The President’s Volunteer Service Award

The President’s Volunteer Service Award recognizes United States citizens, including kids ages 5 and up, who have achieved between 26 and 250 hours of service to their community over a 12-month time period. Hours spent on the Girl Scout Gold, Silver or Bronze award also count towards the minimum number of hours for the President’s Volunteer Service Award. Recognize your girl today!

Congressional Award

The Congressional Award

The Congressional Award is the United States Congress’ award for young Americans. It is non-partisan, voluntary, and non-competitive. The program is open to all 14- to 23-year-olds; young people may register
when they turn 13 1/2 years old and must complete their activities before their 24th birthday. There are three levels of awards and each level involves setting goals in four program areas; Volunteer Public Service, Personal Development, Physical Fitness, and Expedition/Exploration. This award requires registering before beginning. Girls may earn the Congressional Award for the same project they use for their Girl Scout Gold or Silver Award.


Also a given: as you earn one of Girl Scouting’s highest awards, you’ll change your corner of the world—and maybe even beyond. The possibilities are endless.

Want to see what others have done to earn their award? For inspiration, check out examples of Bronze, Silver, and Gold Award projects via Girl Scouts of the USA’s Map It: Girls Changing the World.